top of page

Fried Green Tomatoes




I came pretty late in life to love fried green tomatoes. My family did not make them, and I am kind of a big chicken when it comes to frying food. All that popping grease! But, at the end of each tomato season, my husband brings in ALL the tomatoes, green, red, whatever. Now, i crave the taste. In fact, just writing this post will make me want to fry some up! I thought I would share the way I make them.



Of, course, the main ingredient - green tomatoes. The recipe I use says to start with about six.

(I will type the entire recipe at the end)



Slice no thicker than 1/2 "





You need two different bowls of stuff - one for the egg/milk mixture, and one for the cornmeal mixture.



One reason I think these turn out so well, is that I use a mixture of oil and butter in the skillet. All butter would be good too.



Now, dip in the egg mixture, then in the cornmeal mixture.




Into the frying pan - I keep my heat on medium/high for this process.




Turn once. They are ready when they are golden brown on both sides.





OOOH, BABY!




I like a bit of ranch dip for mine. Now, there is a yummy summer treat!!!



Fried Green Tomatoes

6 medium tomatoes, sliced no thicker than ½”

2 eggs

¼ cup milk

1 cup cornmeal

½ tsp salt

½ tsp oregano

1/8 tsp pepper

2 Tbls Olive oil

1 Tbs Butter


Beat together eggs and milk.

In separate bowl, combine cornmeal, salt, oregano and pepper.

Heat oil and butter in a skillet

Dip each tomato slice in the egg mixture, then into the cornmeal mixture to be sure it is covered on both sides.

Fry in skillet, turning once, until golden brown on both sides.

Drain on paper towels. I like mine with ranch dip!





This is the recipe on Word. You should be able to download it, if you want to.

Fried Green Tomatoes
.docx
Download DOCX • 13KB

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • White YouTube Icon
  • RSS Clean

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page