top of page

Buddy in Bat Wings


It all started last week at the dog park. People kept bringing the dogs into the park in little Halloween costumes, and Halloween sweaters. All too dang cute. That got me looking online for something cute. I saw these bat wings.


And I said to myself "I could make those!" And so it began.


First, I gathered supplies. Black felt, black velcro and buckram.



Buckram is a very stiff fabric kind of thing. I used to use it a lot to make hats... in my hat making days. Like this one - I made this one.


Back to bat wings.


This is the buckram.

I just drew the shape of bat wings on the buckram, then cut it out.


After tracing the wing shape onto the black felt with chalk, I cut out 2 sides.


Next I had to add velcro on two places on one side - one at the neck, and one at the belly.

This required measuring Buddy. He was so happy about it all.



Next step - sew the 2 sides together, leave the top open for turning, and inserting buckram.

Clip around the seam so that turning will be easier.

Insert the buckram:


I used seam binding to close up the top edge.



Ready to try the wings on!

Hmmmm - a bit droopy.....................



Not to worry - I made a little slit in the felt on the side by Buddy, and inserted a couple of dowels to help the wings stand out.


Since they are made of felt, a small slit on one side is no big deal.

Much better! Buddy is ready for Trick or Treat time.



Here he is keeping an eye out for bad guys, and scanning the sky for the Batman signal!

Buddy Bat Dog to the rescue!!!






Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • White YouTube Icon
  • RSS Clean

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page