top of page

On My Honor

Girl Scouting has meant a lot to me for a long time. I was a Girl Scout as a girl, and also as an adult.

I have always liked Girl Scout "stuff". I gravitate toward Girl Scout books, and other things that Girl Scouting has offered over the years. Oh, yeah, and I love Girl Scout cookies!

I have a few uniforms.

This is the Brownie dress worn by my sister, and also by me.

Here is the book I used.

This is a page from my book. To become a Brownie, you had to say "Twist me and turn me and show me the elf... I looked in the water and saw MYSELF!" (Really it was a mirror on the floor we looked into!)

I think my sister may have used this book. It was published in 1955. and the "new" orange one in 1964.

In the old book it tells you how to learn to lead a song!

Girl Scout songs are still in my head. I loved to sing with the Girl Scouts.

This was our little song book:

This is a photo of my sister in the dress. I remember that I was so jealous when she got to wear her Brownie uniform. Grrr....

This is the Junior Girl Scout uniform that I wore.

I still have my sash (of course), but it is on the patch jacket I wore as a Girl Scout leader when my daughter was a Girl Scout. See it, there in the center? Troop 358!

Glowing Embers was the name of the Girl Scout Council in Michigan, where I grew up.

Yes! WE DO need stinkin' badges!!!

Here is the front of my patch jacket. Most of the stuff on there is from my years as a Girl Scout Leader.

Except this one. This is from Camp Merrie Woode, where I went in the summers. I LOVED camp!

This is the housing at Camp Merrie Woode. 4 girls to a tent, with orange crates or our bedside tables. Everyone brought one of those trunks with all your stuff in it.

Like this.

Here is my Junior Girl Scout Book:

My name and address on the inside.

A page from the inside. I loved this book.

Here is a page from the back, where you earned the badges. My Girl Scout Leader

was Mrs. Baxter. I loved her a lot.

This is the skirt I wore as a Cadette Girl Scout.

Here is a photo of me and my daughter, when she was a Girl Scout. By then, uniforms and books had changed a lot. But, we still had plenty of fun!!!

I have a couple of other books. Old ones.

This one is from 1940.

A page about hiking!

This one is even older - from 1933.

This graphic is on the inside, and I just love it.

This is a First Aid kit - WAY before my time. But, as a leader I kept the year pins, and badges for my girls in here.

This is an old uniform, not sure how old. My sister found it at a thrift store I think. One of my Girl Scouts actually wore this, when we were putting together a history of Girl Scouting presentation.

Very cool old details.

And, of course, we cannot discuss Girl Scouts without COOKIES!

There was tons of cool Girl Scout stuff I wanted as a girl. Check out all the cool stuff!

I have to say, cool stuff aside, what I do have, are the BEST memories of Girl Scouting. Both as a girl, and as a leader.

And this will never leave me,

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • White YouTube Icon
  • RSS Clean

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page