top of page

More Summer Beverages

Last summer I made a post about making Switchel, a most refreshing summer drink. In fact, there is some in my fridge right now. What I would like to share today are some different 19th century beverages. I recently did a demonstration at the museum about what a refreshing summer drink might look like on a hot summer day. Sans ice, of course. So, what would refresh one on a hot 19th century summer day?

I made three drinks for the demonstration, all from 19th century cookbooks. I am not suggesting you make any of these, but it is kind of interesting what was considered refreshing on a hot day, if you did not have an ice box! So, just in case you did not make it to the museum last week, here ya go!

Well, Switchel, is my first choice. Of course I made Switchel. This one is my beverage of choice of the ones I am showing you. You can look at last summer's post on how to make it. Really, it is only water, ginger, maples syrup and apple cider vinegar.

Then, we have Shrub.

A Shrub is a beverage which incorporates a vinegar, a fruit and a sweetener. I made Raspberry Shrub. First you have to make raspberry vinegar. I did this by pouring a quart of white vinegar over a quart of fresh raspberries. On the second day you strain off the red colored vinegar, and pour it over another quart of raspberries. On the third day you do it AGAIN, with yet another quart of raspberries. Clearly it is good to either find raspberries on sale, or have a raspberry patch of your own when you make this recipe!

So, after the third day, you have this nice vinegar. This is combined with a sweetener, in equal amounts with the vinegar.

I felt like drinking this Shrub was kind of like just taking a swig of vinegar.

The third drink I made was a homemade Ginger Beer. Although it bears the name beer, it is a non alcoholic beverage. My understanding is that Ginger Beer is a popular beverage again, and available next to the Root Beer in some stores.

Not knowing how Ginger Beer SHOULD taste, I have to say, I was not a fan of this stuff I made. It smelled quite ginger-y , and also quite yeast-y.

So, there we have it. What the pioneers may have enjoyed on a hot summer day. My recommendation is, well you know - Switchel!

Here are two of our interpreters at the Sharlot Hall Museum, working in the spring garden.

They look ready for a nice glass of Switchel right now!

Enjoy your summer weekend, Friends!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • White YouTube Icon
  • RSS Clean

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page