top of page

A Book Review


I love needlebooks. I have several. It is handy to have several of these because, in my case at least, I always have several projects going at any given time. I might have a basket of mending and patching, another basket of an embroidery project, a bag of quilt squares, and another bag containing a sewing project that I can easily take to the museum for my docent job. In each basket or bag, I add a thimble, small scissors or snips, the correct thread, and a needlebook containing the proper needle for the job. I add a couple of extra needles, because, as my husband will tell you after several needle sticks in his feet, I am prone to dropping them and losing them. Thankfully, his feet find them later.....

Many years ago, I received this needlebook as a gift from a co worker, when I worked at University of Arizona. 1980. I still keep needles in it. Isn't this adorable? Someone made it from a cut up Christmas card.

I won this needlebook about 10 years ago at a sewing conference by Elizabeth Stewart Clark.

After receiving it, I did by best to reconstruct my own. I made these.

Her work is so lovely, and (sorry to say) MUCH better than mine!

I have learned that, when using wool, it is a good idea to edge the wool pieces with some Fray Check. As you can see in the above photo, this one should have been edged in that way. If you use felt, or felted wool, you really don't need to do that.

This needle case belongs to a friend. She bought it at one of those vendors you find at re -enacting events. I admired it a few years ago, and decided I wanted a patriotic needle case too.

So I made this one.

I love to make small things. Even better, to make small things out of several different fabrics. This is the most fun of all, because choosing fabrics that go together like a quilt - fun fun fun!

I made about three of these.

Here are my most recent efforts. Given as Christmas gifts this year.

To make one, first choose a size. I decided the unfinished size would be 5" X 3 1/2 ". I then cut three coordinating fabrics: the main fabric was cut 5" X 2 1/2". The main fabric will be on the bottom. Choose this one, knowing you will add embelishments here.

Middle fabric was cut 5" X 3/4"

And the top fabric was cut 5" X 1 1/4 ".

You will also need a piece for the "binding" - I cut mine 4" X 1 1/2 ".

After sewing these three together, I cut the lining of a different fabric.

Fit these two pieces right sides together, and sew all the way round. Leave about two finger widths at the bottom for turning.

Clip all four corners, and turn, making sure you get the corners, and press.

The next step is to top stich all the way around. This will close up that opening at the bottom.

Add the "pages". For this I used felted wool. You can also use felt, if you don't have some wool. I cut these 4 1/2" X 3", and added them to the center inside of the book.

Sew down the middle. Fold the book in half, so it looks like a little book, and press.

Add the "Binding" strip. I did this by turning the ends of the binding strip under, pressing, and then hand stitching it all the way around. It looks kind of cool if you use a few strands of embroidery thread, and use a primitive stitch along the edges.

Now it is time to add embellishments. If you want to, blanket stitch along the edges using embroidery thread.

I added this small piece of another fabric that says "stitch".

And this is a small piece of the same fabric - looks like a little tape measure.

Buttons are a good addition.

Viola! Done! So dang cute. I think I will go make three more!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • White YouTube Icon
  • RSS Clean

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page